Who Said you can’t teach an old dog….? Pt5


Today’s installment takes us back to Cornwall, in the far South West of England.  It was a hot, very sunny day and the family decided it was beach time, leaving them sunning themselves I went to explore, climbing cliffs and walking the beach in order to find suitable subjects.

The foreshore was marked by a section of rocks stretching out into the water and I fired a few shots off but was not happy with the resulting images; something was missing. I sat and pondered before creating this image:

 

 

As I sat there it struck me that there was little variation between the flat, smooth rocks, what was needed was foreground interest. I selected a large rocky outcrop and dragged / rolled a sizeable boulder to it and managed to sit it atop, this was followed by several more boulders of varying colour & texture and decreasing size, until I had built a rather large Cairn.

By this time about 12 people had gathered on the cliff path to watch, undeterred I set up camera and tripod and shot a series of brackets from varying angles, I realised that what started as an object of foreground interest was actually better as the main subject and lowered my viewpoint to isolate the rocks against the sky.

Content that I had enough shots in the can I packed up and went to rejoin my family, stopping only to take down the Cairn, which by now was receiving  interest from the onlookers.

Once home I selected the image I wanted and set to processing, my initial thought was to process as colour HDR, but I preferred the  Black and White image above. I selected a single frame and processed in Photoshop, adjusting curves and minor tonal adjustments to give the image shown.

10 responses to “Who Said you can’t teach an old dog….? Pt5

    • Thank you Edith. It’s been a good few months for me creatively and it’s great to see so many positive comments and more so to make new friends

  1. Wowsers, Chris, talk about bleeding for your work! That’s awesome initiative to visualize and then realize your vision! Truly inspirational, my friend!

    • If I hadn’t been watched while I was making it I would have left it there. But as I walked away they were already approaching with cameras. I mean get your own idea you know

Please let me know your thoughts on the image above