Lost in the Woods


Click to view large or purchase

Click to view large or purchase

 

It feels like a long time since I’ve posted but I’ve been working on some new stuff so should be able to get back into the swing of things again.

The Photo

A simple shot of some Silver Birch trees on Wimbledon Common, taken during a brief trip out while suffering from a nasty bout of flu. I was finding it hard to muster any motivation and felt, quite literally, lost in the woods. Add to that a good dose of flu pills and you have a recipe for something either appalling or creative, I hope I managed the latter.

Single RAW file, 1/125, f6.3, ISO 100 Olympus E-500 with Zuiko 40-150mm @ 150mm

The Processing

Pretty simple processing on this: Lightroom 4 to make basic adjustments to tone, contrast, exposure etc.

Into Photoshop, duplicate and add vertical blur. Brush out bottom of blur with large, soft brush.

Back to Lightroom, final adjustments to brush in some extra shadow and highlight detail.

 

7 responses to “Lost in the Woods

  1. Hi, Chris.

    Another excellent image. This is definitely on the creative side, but I wouldn’t recommend an ongoing use of flu medication to stir up the creative flow. 🙂

    Take care and get well.

    Jennifer

  2. Pingback: Get Comfortable: It's Coffee and Photography Links Time!·

Please let me know your thoughts on the image above