Ice


I’ve been a little absent from posting of late for a variety of reasons that I won’t bore you with, suffice to say the situation will probably be changing soon.

What happens when you can’t sleep, when the night demons or too much caffeine take hold, for me I open Adobe Bridge and scan back through old folders looking for shots I discarded, could not process, did not process how I wanted and select a few as the whim takes me.

I did that with the shot above of holes in the ice and snow that I took last winter. I opened it in Adobe Photoshop, adjusted levels and added a cooling filter. It took less than 10 minutes, I still could not sleep but I felt a little happier inside.

 

 

5 responses to “Ice

  1. Nice to see you posting, Chris. I’ve spent the last few weeks putting together a Powerpoint slide show for a camera club engagement. Trawling through the old archives has been a trip down memory lane and I’ve unearthed a number of images I had completely forgotten about. And that is so enjoyable: creativity does give us a ‘buzz’.

    • Thanks Andy, appreciate the comment. I like to go through older images every once in a while and like this shot often find ones that I can’t work out why I never processed.

  2. My wife and I love to talk about quantum physics and theories and such, and one topic that seems to come up time and time again is about Mandelbrots and fractal equations. These holes are absolutely of that origin, there is little doubt, and boy do they create beautiful shapes in the frozen covering. This is a very strong image, Chris, so happy to see something new from your studio my friend!

  3. Pingback: Heaps of Awesome Photography Links to Waste Your Weekend With!·

Please let me know your thoughts on the image above

