Black Beauty


Black Beauty

I’m  not that well versed in classic American cars, however I know a thing of beauty when I see it and I saw it.

I was on the prowl around the harbour in Whitstable, Kent when I chanced upon this baby parked up in the harbour car park. It was a tad dusty and had maybe seen better days but it looked well loved and lived in, like an old leather jacket perhaps.

There were cars parked on either side so I only had the option to shoot head on, I tried again later but there was still no better angle and the light was worse.

When I look back on the image today what grabs me the most is the detail and care that went into cars of this era; all that once gleaming chrome and the curve of the body. I’m also struck by the expression on the cars “face”, many modern cars are featureless and tend to look alike, but cars of this era had a personality and it showed in the arrangement of grill and lights, I tend to think this poor old girl looks a little down in the mouth but I’m sure a little polish would help to lift the mood.

Thanks for looking and feel free to leave a comment, and if you know the model please let me know so I can update accordingly.

10 responses to “Black Beauty

  1. I wish I could tell what it was! My bet would be a Dodge or Chevrolet of sorts, but when it comes to this genre of classic I am no expert and could totally be wrong there. I actually really love this shot, Chris! The lighting at work here adds a touch of wonderful drama to the scene!

  2. Pingback: - Gregory Allen Deese·

  3. Pingback: The Most Epic Collection of Photography Links (Since Last Week) Click Here: The Most Epic Collection of Photography Links (Since Last Week) | American Dreaming Magazine·

Please let me know your thoughts on the image above

